Time in Art

Many of David Hockney’s works capture the essence of time through photography collages, which inspired me to use photography as a medium to also show time passing. David Hockney’s works, Tea Time and Gregory in the Swimming Pool stood out to me the most out of his works.  I used these aspects of both these pieces to create my own photographs that shows time passing in two different ways.

To brainstorm the idea of time, I originally used the iPad as a medium and created timelapse drawings and layered photos together. I decided instead of using video time lapses to show time passing, I would use Photoshop to create a time piece in a single photo instead.

I like how David Hockney uses many different photographs taken at different time intervals and places them together again in an almost abstract way shows time passing.  It allows you to see the movements and changes of time all together in an instant, instead of for example, in a 30 second video.

Stemming off the concept of being able to see time passing in an instant, for this photograph I used Photoshop to layer and place multiple photos (taken at different time periods) into a single image.

TIME

In class we all took photos of the same object using the iPad and created a collage. I took inspiration from this idea and captured a photo every hour in the same spot, which allowed me to created a collage that shows time passing through the change in the sky.

timelapse.jpg

Leave a comment